Isa Framework Agreement

In order to ensure the universalisation of Membership of the ISA beyond the tropics, the Alliance`s first General Assembly on 3 October 2018 adopted the amendment of the framework agreement on its creation extending the scope of membership to all UN Member States. Another 107 countries then joined the agreement, including all major countries between cancer and Capricorn, including Mexico, Peru, Chile, Paraguay, Brazil, India, Argentina, Australia, New Zealand and China. On November 30, 2015, a conclave for the solar group, the International Agency for Solar Policy (Application), began. [17] The initiative was launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi at the India-Africa Summit and a meeting of member countries ahead of the 2015 UN climate change conference in Paris in November 2015. [5] [6] The Framework Agreement of the International Solar Alliance was declared signed in Marrakech (Morocco) in November 2016 and 200 countries have joined. Nicaragua`s permanent representative to the United Nations, Jaime Hermida Castillo, signed the agreement on Wednesday to India`s permanent representation at the United Nations. The Central American country is the 87th country to sign the agreement. To date, a total of 87 countries have signed the ISA Framework Agreement and 67 of them have tabled their ratification instruments. The following countries are the potential members of this alliance who have signed the framework. Countries marked with a plus have also ratified the framework. [18] Afghanistan, Bahrain, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bhutan, Botswana, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Congo, Denmark, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Haiti, Ireland, Jamaica, Liberia, Luxembourg, Maldives, Myanmar, Oman, Paraguay, Philippines, Romania, St.

Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago are the youngest members of this alliance. "This amendment came into force on 15 July 2020 after the necessary ratifications/authorizations/authorizations were obtained from the required number of ISA member countries, in accordance with the ISA framework agreement," the ministry said in a statement. The Alliance is a contractual intergovernmental organization. [7] The Framework Agreement of the International Solar Alliance was launched in November 2016 in Marrakech, Morocco, on the sidelines of the Marrakech Climate Change Conference (cop 22 of the Conference of the Parties). On the first day (15 November), sixteen countries signed the agreement: India, Brazil, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the Dominican Republic, the Republic of Guinea and Mali; Nauru; Niger; Tanzania; Tuvalu; Cambodia; Ethiopia; Burkina Faso; Bangladesh and Madagascar. [7] Until 17 November, Guinea-Bissau, Fiji and France also signed the agreement. [16] On November 6, 2017, Indian Foreign Minister Sushma Swaraj met with Guinean Minister Mamady Toure. As part of the meeting, Mamady Toure presented Guinea`s accession instrument to the International Solar Alliance (ISA) initiated by India. Vanuatu and Liberia also signed the agreement.

[2] Earlier this month, an amendment to the framework agreement on the creation of the International Solar Alliance came into force, which will allow UN member states to join the group, including outside the tropics, as announced by the Foreign Ministry on Friday.